Soennecken 111 – My favourite.

So. Soennecken 111s.

The TV show, “5 things to bring on a desert island” asks a person what 5 things he/she would bring with her if fate sends him or her onto a desert island for the entire life. I would like to rephrase the question into “5 pens to bring on a desert island with unlimited ink supply.” I think my five pens would be 3 Soennecken 111 Extras, Soennecken Prasident MK1, and a Mont Blanc 139. I do not yet have the 139, but hey, a guy can dream.

I do, own plenty Soennecken 111s. I’ve got 5 in total. I hope to get my hands on all the 111 colours Soennecken has ever made. There are seven different colour patterns of the 111 model, they are as follows:

  • Light Turquoise herringbone. Medium nib.

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Dark Turquoise herringbone. Don’t have one yet.
  • Rosewood herringbone. Don’t have one yet.
  • Seagreen herringbone. Oblique broad.

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Silver herringbone. Oblique double broad.

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Black with silver hash. Extra fine. “Oh baby you’re so fine~~~” (chimes Scottie….)

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Black. Sweet old broad.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Soenneceken 111 Lady Measurements:

  • Capped length: 119.0 mm
  • Uncapped length:112.0 mm
  • Barrel girth (Widest): 11.0 mm
  • Section girth (Narrowest/Widest): 8.5 mm / 9.5 mm
  • Piston material: Brass.

Soennecken 111 Superior Measurements:

  • Capped length: 125.0 mm
  • Uncapped length: 118.0 mm
  • Barrel girth (Widest): 12.0 mm
  • Section girth (Narrowest/Widest): 9.0 mm / 10.0 mm
  • Piston material: Brass.

Soennecken 111 Extra Measurements:

  • Capped length: 132.0 mm
  • Uncapped length: 120.0 mm
  • Barrel girth (Widest): 12.0 mm
  • Section girth (Narrowest/Widest): 9.0 mm / 10.0 mm
  • Piston material: Brass.

Soennecken 111 is a stunning and sturdy pen. It’s heavier than it looks due to the fact it has a brass piston. The clip is the most important feature of the pen’s design.  It has a certain art deco feeling about it. There are 7 facets on that single clip. It looks like it’s been bent several times to achieve such shape. It’s lines are intricate and oddly clean at the same time.

L Turquoise lady 1
The 111 Clip

See this green Wahl Eversharp Doric pen? It’s a second generation Doric issued in 1936, when the art deco design style was the bees knees. Don’t you think the clip of the Soennecken 111 is very similar to this one? It has never been confirmed that it is a adaption of the Doric model, but oh, we can always guess!

It is also worth noting that the nibs of the Soennecken 111, or should I say, the 1950s nibs on the product lines such as the 111, 222, 333, 444 series all have a coronet with 5 beads. (Other Soenneckens with steel or alloy nibs generally have a coronet with 3 beads. It’s a rather handy way of identifying Soennecken alloy nibs in the wild.) I’ve also seen nibs like these on many other Soennecken models, so these nibs surely aren’t limited to the four 3-numbered series. Soennecken pens aren’t famous for their nibs flexibility, so generally I treat them like rigid nibs, but boy, the responsiveness of the nibs really are one of a kind!! I personally will only stop getting these 111 beauties under one condition: once I have three full sets, 7 different colours, three different sizes, in other words, 63 of them. One set for mint collection, one set for normal daily use, and another for substitution should one pen meets its premature demise. Ain’t that a lovely thought!!

If ever you find a Soennecken 111 in the wild, and you’re sure the nib point is ok, get it. No, POUNCE ON IT!! If you find a Soennecken 111 Extra that I don’t yet have, tell me. Email me. Just let me know. I am dead serious about it. I will give you a price you cannot refuse.

 

Scottie out.

One thought on “Soennecken 111 – My favourite.

  1. Hi Scottie – I have a Soenneken 111 Superior in mint condition with the gold nib and a matching Soenneken 11 Pencil. I would certainly give you first chance to see whether you want them. They are a medium brown colour and both are mint.

    Thank You, Peter pvalbon@gmail.com 778-317-0692

    Like

Leave a comment